If Music Be the Food of Love, Play On

Duke Orsino was a dude who was in love with love. If my ability to predict astrology stereotypes are correct, I’d assume that he’s a Libra, especially with his penchant for music and ability to switch from one obsession to the next so quickly.

Lately, my Spotify has been working overtime to suit my heartbreak needs. I have to be careful with the last song that I let display on my Facebook profile though because Spotify is a sore subject between the ex and I and I’m pretty certain that he monitors my songs because he thinks it’ll give him a glimpse into my head space.

(There was some following-unfollowing drama that I discovered recently and it’s something I’d rather forget about)

Hah. Because I am 12 and I like to make it that obvious that I am pining over him by playing sad sad breakup songs for him to discover? #sarcasmfont

Once, I left Red Light Special from TLC as my Last Played song just to screw with his mind.

In reality though (and by reality, I mean my Private Session playlist), there are some songs that should fall under the Default Breakup Songs playlist. Recently, I discovered a song that not only falls into that category but is perhaps the most epic of all breakup songs. So epic that I started crying at the office while listening to it 40 times.

*passes tissue paper around* THIS SONG IS SO SAD. 

Apart from The Breakup Song (so meta!), these are the other songs that I’ve been playing on repeat:

  • Always Be My Baby – Mariah Carey
  • We Belong Together – Mariah Carey
  • A Little Bit Stronger – Sara Evans
  • All Cried Out – Allure
  • Never Ever – All Saints
  • One Last Cry – Brian Mcknight
  • Don’t Say Goodbye – Human Nature
  • On Bended Knee – Boyz II Men
  • Water Runs Dry – Boyz II Men
  • No Me Ames – Jennifer Lopez and Marc Anthony
  • She’s Out of My Life – Michael Jackson (ooooooooh this one’s painful)
  • Perfectly Lonely – John Mayer
  • Don’t Break My Heart Slow – Vonda Shepard

As you can see, true to my age, it’s a 90s-heavy playlist. I’m sure there are more but these are pretty much the ones that I can think of right now. I don’t mind getting more suggestions! Might as well open myself up to more songs to fill up the void that I’m feeling inside.

2 thoughts on “If Music Be the Food of Love, Play On

  1. Yay….we have the same music taste! I’ve been listening to Whitney Houston lately…..I will always love you, Waiting to exhale, I wanna dance with somebody who loves me… Thanks for sharing your breakup list :)!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY! I love exchanging song recommendations! Oh, Whitney sure hits the sweet spot too. I Will Always Love You is right up there in the Thumping of the Car Steering Wheel list because how do you prevent the waterworks from flowing with that one? Those songs that you shared are awesome too! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

