My Superpower is Sleeping

A few nights ago, I was talking to my Someone (let’s just refer to him as my Someone from now on to make it easier and less gross, I hope?) when I accidentally fell asleep mid-way through the conversation.

Due to our timezone difference, we’ve had to opt for text messages and a lot of the conversations occur when I’m ready to turn in for bed. Yes, it does sound quite adorable when you think of the stereotypical girl-under-the-covers-texting stereotype like this one: tumblr_mo6w95oJZd1r3kkg6o1_500.gif

But what you’ll really get is:

And just waves and waves of intense guilt when you accidentally wake up at around 5 a.m. and realize that you’ve missed a bunch of his texts.

The worst is when you realize that he’d geared himself up for a nice long text session (otherwise known as Date Night) which left him feeling quite disappointed with the appearance of those double grey ticks.

We’ve done it before, where I’d gone to bed earlier and wake up later so that it’ll match his timezone but my blood pressure was going through the roof due to the lack of sleep and it was taking its toll on my health so we’ve had to let that go.

So I’m not sure. How do people do this? How do you juggle connections when your timezones are so far apart? Because if you really take into account not disturbing each other while they are sleeping or working, it doesn’t leave us with a lot of actual communication time, does it?

He’s been great at being patient with me and he allows me to disturb him while he’s at work. And I’m thankful that he’s always there when I need him, regardless of how busy he is at that moment. Knowing men, that’s as good as a guy saying he’s prioritizing you, right?

 

Leave a Reply

